Monday, September 24, 2012

Caribbean Challenge Initiative (CCI) GLISPA

Caribbean Challenge Initiative so far involves eight island nations — The Bahamas, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Grenada, Antigua and Barbuda as well as Saint Kitts and Nevis. Five countries have made formal commitments to protect at least 20% of the near-shore marine and coastal habitats by 2020. All eight countries are participating in the Caribbean Biodiversity Fund that will provide sustainable financing for their national protected areas. More